Top HJJ Posts in 2015

Uncategorized

2015 was an absolutely crazy year for HJJ! Though we just started this summer,

hjj_best2015

Here are the top posts for 2015! Included in this best of is a combination of posts that are best received by you, most memorable to write, and most informative that could be referenced anytime.

What are some of your favs?

  1. Androgynous Guide
    secondhand vs vintage; & all the definitions you need to know part ii
    HJJ_ethical_defin2
    Knowledge is power. There’s dozens of new terms you may encounter when you’re new to ethical fashion. Understanding the significance and differences between them is empowering, but it can also make you more passionate.
  2. Androgynous Guide
    ethical vs sustainable fashions; & all the definitions you need to know part i
    HJJ_ethical_defin
    The groundwork for the definitions guide. If there are more terms that needed some much needed context, you can bet that HJJ will be there to explain and define.
  3. Androgynous Guide
    alternative places to donate your used clothing (other than thrift shops)
    HJJ_altclothingdonate
    Knowing the benefits and drawbacks of where your charitable contributions are going is important to both you and the charity. HJJ readers really resonated with charitable tips, and were surprised to learn that thrift shops can’t take in everything you donate.
    In the new year, there will be more
  4. Androgynous Guide
    suitable last minute halloween costumes you already have
    HJJ_suitablehalloween
    Halloween is one of my fav holidays, it’s not possible for me to skip writing a costume guide. AND as it turns out, you needed last minute costume ideas too! Costumes don’t need to be expensive or lavish, some of the best costumes are hidden away in your closet.
    Next year, I’ll be sure to include more ideas for your next alternative Halloween costume.
  5. Androgynous Guide
    three back to school looks you already haveHJJ_b2s
    High school, college, or university when you’re starting a new year, you wanna feel and look fresh. Without adding to your already increasing student debt, I show you three looks you can achieve with your readily available closet.
    Representing for gender minorities is so important. It can be scary being true to yourself, if you already feel like you don’t fit in. In 2016, I got your back for another year of scholarly debuts, and hopefully bring you some inspiration of being yourself.
  6. Outfit
    forbidden suit
    heyjustjei_margiela1
    Sometimes when we deprive ourselves in order to preserve something we treasure. But it’s important to celebrate what inspires you. In this outfit post, I break out my Maison Martin Margiela x H&M blazer from it’s hanger prison to show you some unique details by an amazing designer.
    HJJ’s new year will bring more outfits in beautiful places. Representation for non-binary people is so important, and I will continue to be visible in order to show what mainstream media won’t.
  7. Life
    new york, new york you’re a helluva town part ii
    HJJ_NYC_YankeeStadiumTraveling around the world helps you experience new things that maybe you can’t get in your own little hometown. I love sharing my experiences with you while I spent a vaca in New York. Yankee stadium, Kinokuniya, and much more it was a trip I won’t soon forget.
    I have no idea what 2016 has in store for me, but wherever I go, I’ll be taking you along for the ride with me.8. Spotlight
    6 unique gifts for the leather aficionado
    HJJ_giftguide_leather
    Of all the gift guides I’ve done, this one seems to really resonate with you readers, and it’s easy to see why. I’ve scoured through Etsy and beyond to find the top leather craft designers.
    I’m passionate about shining a spotlight on indie and sustainable designers who are changing the world one garment (or accessory) at a time. Spotlight is a vital pillar on HJJ, so you can expect more spotlight posts in the new year.9. Androgynous Guide
    beginner’s guide to ethical fashion
    hjj_ethical_dp
    This AG was the one that started it all. “Ethical” is the most searched tags for HJJ. I see you making an effort, and hey I’m proud of you! One of the mantras I try to instill in any of my ethical posts is that being ethical isn’t an all or nothing goal. Asking questions, investing in quality, and buying less are all things you simple things you can do to start.
    I’ll continue giving you tips and guidance on becoming more ethical and conscious of your commercial purchases, so you can better understand how your actions can impact the world and all it’s inhabitants.

 

Thank you so much for joining me from my beginnings in the summer of 2015. I’m no where near slowing down, there will be more and better HJJ in the new year. I’ll see you all in 2016!

Links à la Mode, December 31

SPONSOR: Shopbop Eugenia Kim Hats, Rebecca Taylor Dresses, Stella McCartney Lingerie, Pepin, Pared,

9 thoughts on “Top HJJ Posts in 2015

Leave a Reply

